A good, good father ….

Girlie’s favorite time of the day, one that she fusses and whines until it happens … the time when she gets to spend just she and her daddy, snuggling in her daddy’s lap before dinner time.

She snuggles in to his chest, feeling secure, feeling loved, feeling his strong presence.  Daddy’s presence is enough to help her feel restful and comforted and sometimes get a few winks of sleep before dinner.

We call this “daddy magic” in our house.

Daddy’s have magic.  The magic to comfort in a way that is amazing and special just for their children, and especially for a daughter.  God has given my husband a way to love girlie that I don’t have.  It is a blessing.

“I am a daughter of the King”.  I have that option too, just like girlie, I can climb up in the lap of my Father, climb up in the arms of my Abba Father, be held close, strongly, securely, comforted in a way that only He can comfort, restoring my security, restoring my wholeness, restoring and healing the nicks and bruises, bumps and sores that this world creates.

How?  How can I climb up in my Father’s arms?

Reading His word and praying it back to Him.  Claiming the promises of His word.   By opening the words that He wrote by inspired hands.  By reading the soothing balm of his love spoken over me.

Proverbs 30:5 says “Every word of God proves true; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.”

Zechariah 9:9 says “Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout in triumph, O daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your king is coming to you; He is just and endowed with salvation, Humble, and mounted on a donkey, Even on a colt, the foal of a donkey.”

Psalm 77: 11-15  “I shall remember the deeds of [i]the Lord;
Surely I will remember Your wonders of old.
12 I will meditate on all Your work
And muse on Your deeds.
13 Your way, O God, is holy;
What god is great like our God?
14 You are the God who works wonders;
You have made known Your strength among the peoples.
15 You have by Your [j]power redeemed Your people,
The sons of Jacob and Joseph.”

Oh, I invite you – climb up in to the lap of God, feel cherished by His loving arms wrapped tight around you.

2 thoughts on “A good, good father ….

Leave a Reply

